Football Places 21 Student-Athletes on All-PFL Teams

No Comments

first_imgHonorable MentionOffenseOL Jacob BaconOL Zack ClarkOL Isaiah Kent-SchneiderQB Ian CorwinWR Shane FellerTE Grant GosslingDefenseDE Jacob HardyDL Victor JergensS/Star Danny MoralesS Alex RogersCB Collin SeymourLB Andrew ShafisSpecial TeamsP Ross KennedyLS Ryan Kriceri Print Friendly Version The Academic All-PFL team, highlighted by the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be released Wednesday, concluding the league’s awards week. Fifth-year senior halfback Drew Lauer (St. Peters, Mo.) collected his first career All-PFL honor being named to the second-team offense. Lauer rushed for 1,127 yards, the most by a Bulldogs’ back since Scott Phaydavong had 1,194 in 2007. He led the team in touchdowns with 15, including 12 rushing. Joining him is another first-time honoree, senior offensive lineman Chris Evans (Jackson, Wis.), who started all 11 games. Fifth-year senior defensive end Erin Morgan (Aurora, Ill.) rounds out the second team choices. Morgan is on the second team for the second-straight season after he led the team in tackles for loss with 7.5, and tied with Dineen in sacks with 2.5. The Bulldogs’ 14 All-PFL honorable mention selections included six defenders, six offensive players and two special teams players. Senior offensive lineman Jacob Bacon (Hastings, Minn.), senior offensive lineman Zack Clark (Hoffman Estates, Ill.), freshman quarterback Ian Corwin (Tulsa, Okla.), senior wide receiver Shane Feller (Charles City, Iowa), junior tight end Grant Gossling (Johnston, Iowa), senior defensive end Jacob Hardy (Adel, Iowa), senior defensive tackle Victor Jergens (Webster City, Iowa), senior punter Ross Kennedy (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), fifth-year senior offensive lineman Isaiah Kent-Schneider (Victoria, Minn.), junior long snapper Ryan Kriceri (Aurora, Ill.), sophomore safety/star Danny Morales (Temecula, Calif.), junior safety Alex Rogers (Racine, Wis.), senior cornerback Collin Seymour (Peosta, Iowa) and junior linebacker Andrew Shafis (Mount Pleasant, Ill.). Fifth-year senior tight end/wide receiver Devin Cates (Yuba City, Calif.) is on the first team for the first time after being honorable mention in 2018. Cates led the team in receptions (51), yards (627) and receiving touchdowns (9), including catching a touchdown in eight straight games to end the season. On the defensive first team is senior defensive tackle Gavin Dineen (Algonquin, Ill.), fifth-year senior linebacker Zac Rujawitz (Edwardsville, Ill.) and senior safety Will Warner (Pella, Iowa). Dineen and Warner earned their second straight first-team honors while Rujawitz garnered honorable mention honors last season. Dineen tallied 50 tackles, including 26 solo tackles, and was tied for second on the team in sacks with 2.5. Warner led Drake in interceptions for the second-consecutive season, snagging four this season. Rujawitz led the Bulldogs in total tackles with 68, including an impressive and career-high 18 in the season-finale win over Davidson.center_img ST. LOUIS – The Drake University football team placed 21 student-athletes on the 2019 All-Pioneer Football League teams as voted by the PFL’s 11 head coaches. The Bulldogs had four first-team selections, three second-team selections and 14 student-athletes who received honorable mention honors. Drake had the second-most selections behind league champion, San Diego, which had 23. Second TeamOffenseOL Chris EvansHB Drew LauerDefenseDE Erin Morgan Drake All-PFL Team SelectionsFirst TeamDefenseDL Gavin DineenLB Zac RujawitzS Will WarnerOffenseWR/TE Devin Cateslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *